Architecture People & Places


AIA National Design Awards 2013

Centra Metropark, in Iselin, New Jersy was designed by Kohn Pederson Fox (KPF). Photo: Michael Moran

28 projects have received the AIA's Institute Honor Awards for 2013, recognizing good design in architecture, interior architecture and urban design.

Among the winning projects are those completed as recently as last fall, such as the new Barnes Foundation project, along with somewhat older projects going back to 2009. Many of the older projects, such as the LEED Platinum-certified Vancouver West Convention Center, have previously received other AIA awards at the national and state levels.

OMA designed the Milstein Hall building at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. Photo: Courtesy OMA

Perhaps as a sign of the continuing mixed bag of construction spending, the winners included a notable number of institutional and public projects, while comparatively few residential and commercial projects were present. In fact, only two high-end residential projects - one in Seattle and one in Chicago - received awards.

Three SOM projects won in the Urban Design category, while the renowned firm claimed no awards in either architecture or interior architecture.

The Boat Pavilion for Long Dock Park, by Architecture Research Office, in Beacon, New York. Photo: © James Ewing Photography

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture 

Art Stable, Seattle, Washington
by Olson Kundig Architects

The Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
by Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects

Boat Pavilion for Long Dock Park, Beacon, New York
by Architecture Research Office (ARO)

Centra Metropark, Iselin, New Jersey
by Kohn Pedersen Fox (KPF)

Clemson University Lee Hall College of Architecture, Clemson, South Carolina
by Thomas Phifer and Partners

Mason Lane Farm Operations Facility, Goshen, Kentucky
by De Leon & Primmer Architecture Workshop

Milstein Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York
by OMA

Morse and Ezra Stiles Colleges, New Haven, Connecticut
by KieranTimberlake

Exterior Restoration of the New York Public Library, New York, New York
by Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

Saint Nicholas Eastern Orthodox Church, Springdale, Arkansas
by Marlon Blackwell Architect

Vancouver Convention Centre West, Vancouver, Canada
by LMN Architects + MCM/DA
The jury for the architecture category comprised: Mary Katherine (Mary Kay) Lanzillotta FAIA, Jury Chair, Hartman-Cox Architects; Brian Fitzsimmons, AIA, Fitzsimmons Architects; John Kane, FAIA, Architekton; William Leddy, FAIA, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects; Philip Loheed, AIA, BTA Architects, Inc.; Robert Maschke, AIA, robert maschke ARCHITECTS inc.; Douglas L. Milburn Assoc. AIA, Isaksen Glerum Wachter LLC and Becky Joyce Yannes, AIAS Representative, Drexel University.
A facade renovation of the New York Public Library was designed by Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. Photo: Peter Aaron/ Esto

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Interior Architecture

BNIM Iowa, Des Moines, Iowa

Charles Smith Wines Tasting Room and World Headquarters, Walla Walla, Washington
by Olson Kundig Architects

Chicago Apartment, Chicago, Illinois

Doc Magic, Torrance, California
by RA-DA

Lamar Advertising Corporate Headquarters, Baton Rouge
by Eskew+Dumez+Ripple

McAllen Main Library, McAllen, Texas
by Meyer, Scherer & Rockcastle, Ltd. (MS&R)

PACCAR Hall, Seattle, Washington
by LMN Architects

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Missouri
The jury for the 2013 Institute Honor Awards for Architecture includes: Andrew Wells, FAIA, Jury Chair, Dake Wells Architecture; Susan H. Jones, FAIA, Atelierjones, LLC; Carlos M. Martinez, AIA , Gensler; Ronald J. McCoy, FAIA, Princeton University and Catherine M. Truman, AIA, Ann Beha Architects.

The new Barnes Foundation building by Todd Williams Billie Tsien Architects. Photo: Michael Moran

2013 Institute Honor Awards for Regional & Urban Design

Burnham Place at Union Station Master Plan, Washington, D.C.
by Shalom Baranes Associates, PC HOK

Coal Harbour Convention District, Vancouver, Canada
by LMN Architects + MCM/DA

The Great Lakes Century - a 100-year Vision, Great Lakes Region, United States
by Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

Nanhu New Country Village Master Plan, Nanhu District, Jiaxing, China
by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

National September 11 Memorial, New York City
by Handel Architects

Parkmerced Vision Plan, San Francisco
by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Rock Street Pocket Housing (RSPH), Little Rock, Arkansas
by University of Arkansas Community Design Center

Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark
by Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG)
The jury for the 2013 Institute Honor Awards for Regional & Urban Design includes: Mark Shapiro, AIA, Jury Chair, Mithun, Inc.; Ellen Dunham-Jones, AIA, Georgia Institute of Technology; William A. Gilchrist, FAIA, Place Based Planning; Toni L. Griffin, AIA, The City College of New York and Thomas E. Luebke, FAIA, U.S. Commission of Fine Arts, Washington, D.C.

Selected from among more than 700  submissions, the 28 recipients will recieve their awards at the AIA's national convention, which will be held in Denver, Colorado from June 20 to 22.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Send this to a friend       Subscribe       Contribute       Media Kit       Privacy       Comments
ARCHWEEK  |  GREAT BUILDINGS  |  ARCHIPLANET  |  DISCUSSION  |  BOOKS  |  BLOGS  |  SEARCH © 2012 Artifice, Inc. - All Rights Reserved